will run for muffins.

Standard

will run for muffins nov 2 2014For roughly the past two years, I’ve set aside a few hours, usually on Sunday afternoon, to prep my meals for the week. While some food is best cooked to eat, and I still spend some time cooking during the week, on Sundays I prepare anything ahead of time that I can.

My reasoning is simple: I do better with a plan. I make smart choices for myself ahead of time and only keep good food in my house to make sure that I eat good food. Alas, sometimes having a plan is just not enough to keep my inner binge-eater at bay. I push it a little further with meal prep to make sure there is very little work involved in the plan’s execution. The truth is, when it actually comes time to eat, if there isn’t something healthy ready to go, I have been known to black out in a fit of hanger and eat all of the peanut butter for lunch. 


I get pretty bored eating the same thing over and over (except, it seems, if that thing is zucchini & spinach lasagna.. yum!). Disinterest in my prepped food can easily put me in my car on autopilot to Chick-fil-A if I’m not careful.

The struggle is real.

So, this week, a little burned out on my tried-and-true meal plans, I spent a little extra time on Saturday night hunting down new items for this week’s menu. (If you check out the “read this” menu at the right side of the page, you’ll see a list of sites I frequent when trolling the internet for clean, healthy recipes!) This week’s winning combinations include:

  • for the morning. coffee. always coffee. followed up by quick old fashioned rolled oats, 1/2 a diced granny smith apple, cinnamon, and a swirl of 100% maple syrup
  • around noontime. piles of fresh colorful produce and butternut squash soup
  • afternoon snack: the other half of my breakfast apple with these banana chocolate chip muffins
  • early evening. turkey meatloaf, steamed broccoli, and roasted garlic mashed cauliflower (…which will have to be the subject of another post soon!)
  • pm snack: Greek yogurt w/ blueberries and a sprinkle of Kashi GOLEAN Crunch!

Today, I took some time to portion out oatmeal, wash and portion out produce, slice and dice a few things, and to cook the meatloaf and the cauliflower mash. Then, I made muffins. I made 12 muffins.

What’s that you say? There aren’t 12 days in a week? Oh snap!

Even though they are low in calories, made with fruit and whole wheat flour, eating the “extra” (ahem, 5) today could have easily become an issue. So, I took a little Sunday run to get away from the muffins for a while and regroup. 5 miles and a little under 50 minutes later, all I wanted was a shower. It is dark now, and I am happy to report that there are still a dozen muffins in this house. But I bet I can convince Rob to knock it down to 10 for me before the day’s through. 🙂

Alright, let’s make muffins y’all. 


 what’s in it?

3  ripe medium bananas

1/3 c. unsweetened apple sauce

1 1/4 c. whole wheat flour 1

3/4 t. baking soda

1/4 t. salt

2 T. earth balance buttery spread

1/3 c. raw honey 2 or light brown sugar

whites of 2 large eggs

1/2 t. pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 oz mini chocolate chips or chocolate of your choice

coconut oil spray


how to.

First, preheat the oven to 325 degrees and prep a muffin tin (or loaf pan, etc. depending on your desired final product) with coconut oil spray.

Things to do, and set aside. Peel the bananas and mash them in a bowl with a fork or the wire beater attachment of your hand mixer.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt with a wire whisk. Set aside.

Getting so much closer to muffins now. In a large bowl, combine buttery spread, honey 3 , egg whites, bananas, apple sauce and vanilla. (If you’re using sugar, cream the butter and sugar together first, then add the rest. ) With a hand mixer, beat at medium speed until thick. Scrape down sides of the bowl.

Carefully add flour mixture to your wet ingredients and blend at low speed until combined. Fold in chocolate chips. Avoid over mixing.


Bake at 325 on center oven rack for:

  • 25-30 minutes for muffins.
  • 50-60 minutes for a loaf pan.

Keep an eye on baking time since honey browns faster than sugar. When a toothpick comes out clean, you’re all set! Now, go run while they’re cooling! 🙂

I promise to start taking pictures of the cooking process!


enjoy!

recipe adapted from: skinnytaste.com

  1. White or brown. I’ve recently learned the difference. Thanks, Happy Herbivore
  2. The original recipe calls for 1/3 cup brown sugar, which I replaced with honey for a cleaner recipe. (Read more about clean baking substitutions at TheGraciousPantry.com
  3. When measuring honey, prep your cup first with water, a little oil, or egg to prevent it from sticking! 
One thought on “will run for muffins.

leave a note for alex.

