the dishes made me do it.

Standard

muffin pans

Cooking and eating clean, hunting down new recipes, trying out healthier, cleaner twists on classics– these have become my hobbies (good thing exercise is my other hobby). In support of these hobbies, and in a seemingly natural transition that followed my departure from graduate school, the restaurant industry, and roommate living, my boyfriend and I have slowly begun to stock a kitchen full of gadgets and appliances (and a kick ass home gym). We add to our kitchen collection at just about any gift-giving opportunity and/or Tuesday afternoon when we discover a recipe for something that “requires” that we own a mandolin (ahem, zucchini & spinach lasagna). Somehow, though, we managed to go without a muffin tin, or much of anything baking related at all for going on 4 years. Perhaps this is why I ate so many vegan cookies from Whole Foods? Perhaps savory cooking took priority? Well, if clean and savory was my past, clean baking might be my future. And the dishes made me do it.

Not long after my mom brought the muffin form of pumpkin bread along for a visit to Winston-Salem, a visit during which I ate her muffins and then proceeded to say things like, “Man, I really need a muffin tin” (hint hint), something magical happened. And by magical, I mean my Momma sent a Temp-tations bakeware set right to my door. Now, I had a loaf pan, muffin pan, rolling pin, tart pan and bonus Texas-sized muffin pan– and a storage problem. Thank you, Momma and thank you QVC. 🙂

Well, now I had to make muffins. 

So I did. I started with banana chocolate chip muffins made with whole wheat flour and coconut oil.  Then, I made mini broccoli omelette muffins and whipped up  another batch of pumpkin bread, but as muffins this time. And now, because those poor muffin pans have laid empty too long (for 3 days!), I’m on to apple cinnamon muffins with coconut flour.

clean apple cinnamon muffins

12 muffins // 25 minutes // gluten-free //


what’s in it?

  • coconut oil spray
  • 1 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 4 whole eggs
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil, melted
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1 T. honey
  • 1/2 c. coconut flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill Organic Coconut Flour, which I bought at Harris Teeter)
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1 T. chia seeds (optional)
  • 1/2 granny smith apple, diced (optional)
  • 1 oz dark chocolate chips (optional)

 


how to.

Preheat the oven to 350° and prepare a muffin tin (with liners or lightly spray with coconut coil spray). The rest is as easy as 1, 2, 3:

  1. Combine the apple sauce, eggs, coconut oil, vanilla, and honey in a medium bowl. Stir to combine, breaking up egg yolks.
  2. Add coconut flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, salt. Stir to combine. (Fold in apples, chia seeds, and chocolate here if you’re using them).
  3. Spoon into muffin pan, filling each well about 2/3 full.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until toothpick placed in the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins (or 11, if you make a jumbo muffin for “quality control taste testing purposes). Serve ’em up warm with cup of tea; store in a resealable bag in the fridge for later. These are a great light treat to have with fresh fruit or alone– and even with chocolate and the extra apple added, thy are around 100 calories a piece (113 according to the recipe I plugged into MyFitnessPal).

 


paleo apple cinnamon muffins

The finished product! (We do not have pretty counter tops. I know.)

 


This was my first adventure with coconut flour and certainly won’t be my last. I’ve been reading the resources and information on Whole30 and found their grain- and legume-free explanations interesting. I’m not Whole30-in’ it up entirely, and this recipe technically falls outside the rules (see Sex With Your Pants On) but it did inspire me to look into all things Paleo, which I admit, I have been rather skeptical about.

  • Have you cooked or baked with coconut four?

  • If so, did you choose it for its flavor, its lack of gluten, or just because a recipe called for it?

  • What’d you make?

Recipe adapted from Paleogrubs.com
4 thoughts on “the dishes made me do it.

    • If you tell my mother you need/want them, you too could end up with dishes on your doorstep! She’s the only reason I have any dishes at all, come to think of it. Thanks for reading and for taking the time to comment 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you! I love them too— they are naturally non stick, dishwasher and microwave safe, and SO easy to clean. They’ve been serving me so well– I’ve made muffins every week since they arrived!

      Like

leave a note for alex.

