about july 24th

Standard

(Too. Soon.)

“The music was at the start. ”
– Chet Faker

There was so much laughter and singing that I forgot:
I forgot to be sad.
I forgot to miss you.

And eventually,
I forgot everything that I wanted for me.
More importantly: what I need.
And that is not to be motivated by fear.

My strength has been tested
so much since lunchtime on June 2nd.
Since much earlier—if I’m honest.

My weakness is showing now.

I am too connected to you to

Slip away, to fade away.

Days away I still feel you

Touching me, changing me,

And considerately killing me.

leave a note for alex.

